Category Archives: Literature & Fiction

Beautiful Ruins

Beautiful Ruins synopsis: The acclaimed, award-winning author of the national bestseller The Financial Lives of the Poets returns with his funniest, most romantic, and most purely enjoyable novel yet: the story of an almost-love affair that begins on the Italian coast in 1962 . . . and is rekindled in Hollywood fifty years later. “Why… Read More »

Fall of Giants

Fall of Giants synopsis: A thirteen-year-old Welsh boy enters a man’s world in the mining pits. . . . An American law student rejected in love finds a surprising new career in Woodrow Wilson’s White House. . . . A housekeeper for the aristocratic Fitzherberts takes a fateful step above her station, while Lady Maud… Read More »

The Screwtape Letters

The Screwtape Letters synopsis: A milestone in the history of popular theology, The Screwtape Letters is an iconic classic on spiritual warfare and the dynamics of temptation. This profound and striking narrative takes the form of a series of letters from Screwtape, a devil high in the Infernal Civil Service, to his nephew Wormwood, a… Read More »

The Quadrail Series Books 1–3

The Quadrail Series Books 1–3 synopsis: It is the Quadrail—a miracle of design that connects all twelve of the galaxy’s inhabited empires, allowing diverse alien species and cultures to exchange ideas, inspire imaginations, build bridges of understanding . . . and orchestrate the subjugation of all living things. Night Train to Rigel: Frank Compton used… Read More »

Missing, Presumed

Missing, Presumed synopsis: “An extraordinarily assured police procedural in the tradition of Ruth Rendell and Elizabeth George.”—Joseph Finder, author of The Fixer “Surprise-filled . . . one of the most ambitious police procedurals of the year. Detective Bradshaw’s biting wit is a bonus.”—The Wall Street Journal “Missing, Presumed has future BBC miniseries written all over… Read More »

To the Last Man

To the Last Man synopsis: Jeff Shaara has enthralled readers with his New York Times bestselling novels set during the Civil War and the American Revolution. Now the acclaimed author turns to World War I, bringing to life the sweeping, emotional story of the war that devastated a generation and established America as a world… Read More »

That Second Chance Boxed Set 2

That Second Chance Boxed Set 2 synopsis: Bestselling romance and women’s fiction author, Mary Campisi, brings readers Books 4-6 of That Second Chance series in a boxed set. Her small town romances center on family life, friendship, forgiveness, and of course, second chances, as they explore the issues of today’s contemporary women. And if you’re… Read More »

The Last Tudor

The Last Tudor synopsis: The latest novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Philippa Gregory features one of the most famous women in history, Lady Jane Grey, and her two sisters, each of whom dared to defy her queen. Jane Grey was queen of England for nine days. Her father and his allies crowned… Read More »

What Are We Doing Here?

What Are We Doing Here? synopsis: Marilynne Robinson has plumbed the human spirit in her renowned novels, including Lila, winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award, and Gilead, winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award. In this new essay collection she trains her incisive mind on our modern political… Read More »

Jefferson’s Daughters

Jefferson’s Daughters synopsis: Thomas Jefferson had three daughters: Martha and Maria by his wife, Martha Wayles Jefferson, and Harriet by his slave Sally Hemings. In Jefferson’s Daughters, Catherine Kerrison, a scholar of early American and women’s history, recounts the remarkable journey of these three women—and how their struggle to define themselves reflects both the possibilities… Read More »