Category Archives: Literature & Fiction

W is for Wasted

W is for Wasted synopsis: Two dead men changed the course of my life that fall. One of them I knew and the other I’d never laid eyes on until I saw him in the morgue. The first was a local PI of suspect reputation. He’d been gunned down near the beach at Santa Teresa.… Read More »

The Collected Novels

The Collected Novels synopsis: Lie Down in Darkness is William Styron’s stunning debut: a classic portrait of one Southern family’s tragic spiral into destruction. Set This House on Fire is a story of evil and redemption involving three American men whose paths converge on a film shoot in Italy at the close of the 1940s,… Read More »

Circling the Sun

Circling the Sun SYNOPSIS: Paula McLain, author of the phenomenal bestseller The Paris Wife, now returns with her keenly anticipated new novel, transporting readers to colonial Kenya in the 1920s. Circling the Sun brings to life a fearless and captivating woman—Beryl Markham, a record-setting aviator caught up in a passionate love triangle with safari hunter… Read More »

Santa’s Mail-Order Bride

Santa’s Mail-Order Bride synopsis: Schoolteacher Maggie O’Brien comes home for Christmas on a mission–to gather toys for orphans living on poor farms. She’s made her list, but there’s no Santa in sight. Not until a local shopkeeper volunteers his services. Gordon Sumner has his heart set on winning the black-haired Irish beauty, but Maggie’s brother… Read More »

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire synopsis: “‘There will be three tasks, spaced throughout the school year, and they will test the champions in many different ways … their magical prowess – their daring – their powers of deduction – and, of course, their ability to cope with danger.’” The Triwizard Tournament is to… Read More »

The Courtesan

The Courtesan synopsis: The year is 1881. Seven-year-old Jinhua is left an orphan, alone and unprotected after her mandarin father’s summary execution for the crime of speaking the truth. For seven silver coins, she is sold to a brothel-keeper and subjected to the worst of human nature. When an elegant but troubled scholar takes Jinhua… Read More »

The Girl with Kaleidoscope Eyes

The Girl with Kaleidoscope Eyes synopsis: HARLAN COBEN calls it “One of my all-time favorite series! …David Handler is so good at writing one smart, funny page-turner after another that he makes it look easy.” Fans of JANET EVANOVICH and CARL HIAASEN, get ready. If you haven’t yet discovered wisecracking sleuth Stewart “Hoagy” Hoag and… Read More »

The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde synopsis: Unabridged version of The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, offered here for chump change, from the Master Storyteller Robert Louis Stevenson. His first draft was burned to ash, the final published version created at the request of his wife. The result is… Read More »

The Winter Lodge

The Winter Lodge synopsis: In Avalon, New York weekly food columnist Jenny Majesky mourns the loss of her grandma Helen, who died two weeks ago. Gram along with her late spouse Leo raised Jenny with love after her biological mother deserted her as a small child; she never knew who her dad was until recently.… Read More »

The Christmas Train

The Christmas Train synopsis: One of America’s most critically acclaimed storytellers, David Baldacci has enthralled millions with his popular novels. Showcasing his remarkable versatility, Baldacci gift-wraps a beloved holiday classic… Disillusioned journalist Tom Langdon must get from Washington, D.C., to L.A. in time for Christmas. Forced to travel by train, he begins a journey of… Read More »