Category Archives: Mystery

Darwin’s Radio

Darwin’s Radio synopsis: “Virus hunter” Christopher Dicken is a man on a mission, following a trail of rumors, government cover-ups, and dead bodies around the globe in search of a mysterious disease that strikes only pregnant women and invariably results in miscarriage. But when Dicken finds what he’s looking for, the answer proves to be… Read More »

Below Zero

Below Zero synopsis: Six years ago, Joe Pickett’s foster daughter, April, was murdered. Now, someone is leaving phone messages claiming to be the dead girl. As his family struggles with the disturbing event, he discovers that the calls have been placed from locations where serious environmental crimes have occurred. And as the phone calls grow… Read More »

Trio for Blunt Instruments

Trio for Blunt Instruments synopsis: If Nero Wolfe and his sidekick, Archie, would ever admit to an Achilles’ heel-which they wouldn’t-it would be a weakness for damsels in distress. In these three charming chillers the duo answer the call of helpless heroines with nothing to lose-except their lives. First a beautiful young Aphrodite comes to… Read More »

The Night of the Moths

The Bone Seeker synopsis: In the third novel in this highly praised mystery series that will appeal to fans of The Killing, Top of the Lake, and The Bridge, Edie Kiglatuk works as a summer school teacher in the Canadian arctic. When one of her female students is found dead in nearby Lake Turngaluk, Edie… Read More »

Brother Cadfael’s Penance

Brother Cadfael’s Penance synopsis: For Brother Cadfael in the autumn of his life, the mild November of our Lord’s year 1145 may bring a bitter—and deadly—harvest. England is torn between supporters of the Empress Maud and those of her cousin Stephen. The civil strife is about to jeopardize not only Cadfael’s life, but his hopes… Read More »

The Talbot Odyssey

The Talbot Odyssey synopsis: For forty years Western intelligence agents have known a terrible secret: the Russians have a mole — code-named Talbot — inside the CIA. At first Talbot is suspected of killing European agents. Then a street-smart ex-cop uncovers a storm of espionage and murder on the streets of New York, while in… Read More »

Good Behavior

Good Behavior synopsis: Fresh out of prison and fighting to keep afloat, Letty Dobesh returns to her old tricks burglarizing suites at a luxury hotel. While on the job, she overhears a man hiring a hit man to kill his wife. Letty may not be winning any morality awards, but even she has limits. Unable… Read More »

The Good Samaritan

The Good Samaritan synopsis: The people who call End of the Line need hope. They need reassurance that life is worth living. But some are unlucky enough to get through to Laura. Laura doesn’t want them to hope. She wants them to die. Laura hasn’t had it easy: she’s survived sickness and a difficult marriage… Read More »

The Keys to the Street

The Keys to the Street synopsis: Set near London’s Regent’s Park, where the city’s wealthiest, poorest, kindest, and most vicious citizens all cross paths, The Keys to the Street reminds us how interconnected life can be and how we’re often surrounded by people that we fail to see. Mary generously donates her bone marrow to… Read More »

The Improbable Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

The Improbable Adventures of Sherlock Holmes synopsis: The game is afoot! Night Shade Books is proud to present the fantastic adventures of the world’s greatest detective — mystery, fantasy, science fiction, horror, no genre can escape the esteemed detective’s needle-sharp intellect and intuition. This reprint anthology showcases the best Holmes short fiction from the last… Read More »