Category Archives: Reference

Webster’s Spanish-English Dictionary for Students, Second Edition

Webster’s Spanish-English Dictionary for Students, Second Edition synopsis: This 2014 revised and updated edition is ideal for English and Spanish speakers, this bidirectional dictionary defines the core vocabularies of Latin-American Spanish and American English. Abbreviated description text: This value-priced Spanish-English, with over 50,000 translations is the best bilingual reference for students. Features of this Book… Read More »

The History of Love

The History of Love synopsis: ONE OF THE MOST LOVED NOVELS OF THE DECADE. A long-lost book reappears, mysteriously connecting an old man searching for his son and a girl seeking a cure for her widowed mother’s loneliness. Leo Gursky taps his radiator each evening to let his upstairs neighbor know he’s still alive. But… Read More »

The Bear and the Nightingale

The Bear and the Nightingale synopsis: NATIONAL BESTSELLER • A magical debut novel for readers of Naomi Novik’s Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern’s The Night Circus, and Neil Gaiman’s myth-rich fantasies, The Bear and the Nightingale spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent with a gorgeous voice. At the edge of… Read More »

2018 Rand McNally Large Scale Road Atlas

2018 Rand McNally Large Scale Road Atlas synopsis: Give road-weary eyes a break with this spiral-bound Large Scale edition featuring all the accuracy you’ve come to expect from Rand McNally, only bigger. Updated atlas contains maps of every U.S. state that are 35% larger than the standard atlas version plus over 350 detailed city inset… Read More »

The Body Keeps the Score

The Body Keeps the Score synopsis: Trauma is a fact of life. Veterans and their families deal with the painful aftermath of combat; one in five Americans has been molested; one in four grew up with alcoholics; one in three couples have engaged in physical violence. Dr. Bessel van der Kolk, one of the world’s… Read More »

Words on the Move

Words on the Move synopsis: Language is always changing — but we tend not to like it. We understand that new words must be created for new things, but the way English is spoken today rubs many of us the wrong way. Whether it’s the use of literally to mean “figuratively” rather than “by the… Read More »

Atlas Obscura

Atlas Obscura synopsis: It’s time to get off the beaten path. Inspiring equal parts wonder and wanderlust, Atlas Obscura celebrates over 700 of the strangest and most curious places in the world. Talk about a bucket list: here are natural wonders—the dazzling glowworm caves in New Zealand, or a baobob tree in South Africa that’s… Read More »

Rand McNally 2017 Large Scale Road Atlas

Rand McNally 2017 Large Scale Road Atlas synopsis: 2017 Large Scale Road Atlas Overview Give road-weary eyes a break with this spiral-bound Large Scale edition featuring all the accuracy you’ve come to expect from Rand McNally, only bigger. Updated atlas contains maps of every U.S. state that are 35% larger than the standard atlas version… Read More »

Hemingway Didn’t Say That

Hemingway Didn’t Say That synopsis: Everywhere you look, you’ll find viral quotable wisdom attributed to icons ranging from Abraham Lincoln to Mark Twain, from Cicero to Woody Allen. But more often than not, these attributions are false. Garson O’Toole—the Internet’s foremost investigator into the dubious origins of our most repeated quotations, aphorisms, and everyday sayings—collects… Read More »

The Giving Tree

The Giving Tree synopsis: ‘Once there was a tree…and she loved a little boy.’ So begins a story of unforgettable perception, beautifully written and illustrated by the gifted and versatile Shel Silverstein. Every day the boy would come to the tree to eat her apples, swing from her branches, or slide down her trunk…and the… Read More »